Exhibition work showing in 2022 Golden Fleece Award Ceremony

Contemporary jewellery necklace blackened with garnets, enamel and gold

Delighted to have had the chance to make some brand new pieces for The Golden Fleece Award 21st year anniversary. I was very lucky to have won one of the awards before and so was invited to this exhibition. Details below x

Join us for the exhibition opening and the from 2 to 3.30pm, on Saturday 23 April. All welcome.

2022 marks 21 years of the Golden Fleece Award, and we are delighted to be celebrating this milestone with a very special exhibition of work by Golden Fleece Award artists – past and present – at Solstice Arts Centre in Navan, Co. Meath.

The Golden Fleece Award was established through a bequest by artist, researcher, and educator, Lillias Mitchell (1915-2000). It is the largest annual prize open to both artists and makers in Ireland. The Award’s mission is to provide resources for practising contemporary visual artists, makers, craftspeople and designers working in all forms of visual, craft and applied art to innovate and develop their artistic vision.

This hugely eclectic and diverse exhibition presents work from past recipients of the Golden Fleece Award, as well as this year’s winners. It provides a unique insight into art, craft, and design in Ireland over the past two decades, showcasing work by over 40 creative practitioners working in film, painting, jewellery, sculpture, fashion, glass, furniture, ceramics, basket-making, photography, textiles, sound, and more.

The exhibition is accompanied by a series of learning and engagement events programmed by Solstice Arts Centre – visit their website for more information and booking.

Exhibiting artists include:

Bassam Al-Sabah, Aideen Barry, Emma Bourke, Ursula Burke, Margaret Corcoran, Seliena Coyle, Garvan de Bruir, Lorna Donlon, David Eager-Maher, Isobel Egan, Laura Fitzgerald, Liam Flynn, Sara Flynn, Paul Hallahan, Stevan Hartung, Joe Hogan, Bob Johnston, Rachel Joynt, Dragana Jurišić, Claire Kerr, Gillian Lawler, Eoin Mac Lochlainn, Colin Martin, Helen McAllister, Maria McKinney, Cecilia Moore, Fiona Mulholland, Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, Eily O'Connell, Nuala O'Donovan, Sinéad O'Dwyer, Bridget O'Gorman, David O'Kane, Mark O'Kelly, Geraldine O'Neill, David Quinn, Annemaire Reinhold, Cara Thorpe, Jennifer Trouton, Kathy Tynan, Marcel Vidal, Gwen Wilkinson.

The shortlist of artists and makers for the 2022 Golden Fleece Award includes:

Cathy Burke (ceramics), Chloë Dowds (ceramics), Genevieve Howard (art jewellery / sculptural objects), Laura Quinn (glass), Lauren Gault (sculpture / installation), Locky Morris (photography / film), Margaret O'Brien (installation / mixed media), Michelle Malone (installation / image-making / sound / text), Rajinder Singh (performance / video / installation), and Róisín Pierce (textiles / fashion).

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published